Legends Story Expansion – An Overview

A Legends Story Expansion consists of fun and exciting single-player missions. The missions each provide a unique challenge, explaining certain game mechanics and provide great cards to extend your collection. All story expansions can be experienced in two difficulty levels. While the Normal level should be doable with one or only a few tries, the Master level requires multiple attempts and some serious deck building. Therefore, I have collected a “help guide” with decklists that other players have shared on legends-decks.com, along with some videos from content creators like CHARM3R or sheshin2.

Thus far, the following Legends Story Expansion have been released.

The Introductory Story:
The Forgotten Hero

In the launch story, players took up arms in the Great War and helped beat back the invading Dominion army from Cyrodiil.

Legends Story Expansion #1:
The Fall of the Dark Brotherhood

The Fall of the Dark Brotherhood was released in April 2017. In this story expansion, the player is hired by a powerful merchant to infiltrate the ranks of the Dark Brotherhood. There are three maps, equivalent to the full story. Each act can be purchased with real money for a price of $19.99 or for 1,000 gold for each act. Hence, you can get it for free, if you keep collecting a bit of gold every day. The full expansion consists of 25 missions and provides 48 new cards.

The first game expansion in a story format released on April 5, 2017. The story format was changed into three maps, the equivalent to a full act. Each act can be purchased with real money in a bundled price of $19.99, or for a 1000 gold each one. The story consists of 25 missions with 48 new cards.

Legends Story Expansion #2:
Return to Clockwork City

Inspired by classic adventure tales, Return to Clockwork City is set hundreds of years after Sotha Sil’s demise, embark on an epic journey to the fabled Clockwork City filled with danger, wonder, and riches beyond imagination.

The road won’t be easy, however. Nightmarish abominations, traps, and betrayals all stand between treasure hunters and their fabled loot as the fate of the lost city hangs in the balance.

RtCC was the third story set released on November 30, 2017. Similar to Fall of the Dark Brotherhood, the expansion is divided in three acts. The whole set can be purchased as bundle for $19.99 or separately for 1000 gold each act.


  • More than 50 new collectible cards!
  • 35 exciting story missions spread across 3 acts with all-new challenging scenarios.
  • New mechanic: ‘Assemble’ – When players play an Assemble creature, they will choose one of two bonuses. That bonus will be bestowed upon both that creature and every Factotum in the player’s hand and deck.
  • New mechanic: ‘Treasure Hunt’ – While in play, these creatures will watch each card the player draws to see if it’s the treasure they’re looking for. Once the player draws everything the hunters want, a reward awaits.
  • Fabricants’ – All-new creature born of both flesh and metal that rewards players for playing with neutral cards like the Dwemer constructs. These five creatures (one per attribute) offer some serious power, and create some exciting new deckbuilding possibilities.
Isle of Madness - Legends Story Expansion

Legends Story Expansion #3: Isle of Madness

Isle of Madness has been announced by Bethesda on August 10, 2018 and has been released on January 24th, 2019. The set contains 55 new cards, a new set of story surrounding Sheogorath and the Shivering Isles, a new game board, new titles as well as new game mechanics and lane effects. The story expansion consists of three acts.

The third Legends story expansion debuts a whole new mechanic that will have players seeing double. Enter the Double Card – a single card in your deck, that splits into two cards as you finish your draw. This is one of the biggest enhancements to The Elder Scrolls Legends game play since the initial release. All double Cards provide a tremendous amount of Card Advantage.

In addition, Isle of Madness also introduces all-new lane conditions that change up how they play their creatures. The Dementia Lane deals three damage to opponents if you control the most powerful creature. The the Mania Lane draws you a card for having the creature with the highest health. Some cards within Isle of Madness can convert existing lanes into a Mania lane (e.g. Thadon, Duke of Mania) or into a Dementia lane (Syl, Duchess of Dementia). Keep a sharp mind and learn to master these new conditions so that the insanity consumes your opponents rather than you!

%d bloggers like this: